Where is Robertson County?

Tennessee county map

Robertson County, Tennessee, is located in northern Middle Tennessee. It is bordered by our state capitol, Nashville, to the south and the Commonwealth of Kentucky to the north.

To learn more about Robertson County (beyond school system information) we suggest you visit the Robertson County Government's web site, the Robertson County Chamber of Commerce site, and the Robertson County Times web site (The Times also published a Fact Book on Robertson County each year which is available online.)

The Communities We Serve

Robertson County Map

Robertson County includes the cities of Adams, Barren Plains, Cedar Hill, Coopertown, Cross Plains, Greenbrier, Orlinda, Ridgetop, Springfield (our county seat), and White House.

A Brief History

The County of Robertson was named in honor of General James Robertson, who founded the Cumberland Settlements. It is the home of 10 incorporated cities and is bordered by interstate 24, which runs through western Robertson County and interstate 65, which runs north to south through the eastern section of the county.

On April 20, 1796, Springfield was established as the seat of justice in Robertson County. The courthouse houses offices of the County Mayor, Circuit Court Clerk, Clerk and Master as well as other offices. The County is 477 square miles and is governed by an elected 24-member County Commission.

According to the 2000 Census, the county’s population was 54,433 and continues to grow in diversity. Officials in Springfield recently renovated the town square and are working to complete all phases of renovations.